Ray LaHood Archives - Page 2 of 5 - BUSRide

LaHood: $59.3 million for energy-efficient transit projects

Ray LaHood today announced that 27 projects will receive a combined $59.3 million to help transit agencies purchase and support cleaner, greener buses.

FTA awards $3.3 million for fuel-efficient buses in St. Cloud, MN

The St. Cloud Metropolitan Transit Commission will use the $3.3 million to help renovate its Metro Bus Operations Center.

LaHood to states: Strengthen transit safety oversight

Ray LaHood called on 26 states, Puerto Rico, and the District of Columbia to prepare to meet new federal regulations in the near future.

FMCSA makes changes to CSA program

The U.S. Department of Transportation’s Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration this week announced several changes to its CSA enforcement program.

US DOT advises motorcoach companies to prevent tire failures

Several recent incidents involving tire blowouts on passenger buses have prompted the FMCSA to take a closer look at the potential cause.

Transportation Secretary: $787 million to repair transit infrastructure

U.S. Transportation Secretary Ray LaHood today announced $787 million for modernizing and replacing aging transit facilities.

LaHood awards $37.5 million for new Seattle BRT lines

Ray LaHood awarded $37.5 million Friday to the King County Department of Transportation to build two new bus rapid transit lines as part of greater-Seattle’s new six corridor RapidRide bus rapid transit (BRT) system.

FMCSA shuts down 26 bus operations in unprecedented sweep

The Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA) has shut down 26 bus operations, declaring them imminent hazards to public safety.

Las Vegas opens Bus Rapid Transit line servicing Valley, Strip

Federal Transit Administrator Peter Rogoff applauded Nevada officials today for the opening of the Sahara Express Bus Rapid Transit (BRT) line.

Alabama enacts ban on texting while driving

Alabama became the 38th state Tuesday to prohibit text messaging by all drivers. The new law signed by Governor Robert Bentley takes effect Aug. 1.