APTA announces new Executive Committee

The American Public Transportation Association (APTA)  announced its newly elected and appointed officers and directors. They were introduced at the opening general session at the 2014 APTA Annual Meeting and EXPO.




The new APTA chair is Phillip A. Washington, General Manager of the Regional Transportation District, Denver, CO. Washington succeeds Peter Varga, Chief Executive Officer, Interurban Transit Partnership (The Rapid) of Grand Rapids, MI.

Valarie J. McCall, a member of the Greater Cleveland Regional Transit Authority Board of Trustees, is the new vice chair, and Doran J. Barnes, executive director of Foothill Transit in West Covina, CA, continues as secretary-treasurer.

The new officers and directors are:


Phillip A. Washington
General Manager
Regional Transportation District
Denver, CO

Vice Chair
Valarie J. McCall
Board of Trustees
Greater Cleveland Regional Transit Authority Board
Cleveland, OH

Executive Committee Members-at-Large
Michael A. Allegra
General Manager
Utah Transit Authority
Salt Lake City

Donna P. McNamee
Painesville, OH

Michael A. Sanders
Transit administrator, Transit and ridesharing
Connecticut DOT
Newington, CT

Patrick J. Scully
Executive Vice president Sales and Marketing
Motor Coach Industries Inc.
Des Plaines, IL

Carl G. Sedoryk
General Manager/Chief Executive Officer
Monterey-Salinas Transit
Monterey, CA

Nathaniel P. Ford Sr.
Chief Executive Officer
Jacksonville (FL) Transportation Authority
Jacksonville, FL

APTA Board of Directors

Julie Austin
Executive Director
Antelope Valley Transit Authority
Lancaster, CA

Ronald L. Epstein
Chief Financial Officer
New York State DOT
Albany, NY

Michael D. Jones
Vice President, Human Resources
SYSTRA Consulting Inc./SYSTRA Engineering Inc.
Philadelphia, PA

Jennifer Mitchell
Virginia Department of Rail and Public Transportation
Richmond, VA

Jesse D. Oliver
Deputy Executive Director
Dallas Area Rapid Transit
Dallas, TX

Angelina Rivera-Malpiede
Regional Transportation District
Denver, CO

Elizabeth Presutti, AICP
General Manager
Des Moines Area Regional Transit Authority – DART
Des Moines, IA

Janet S. Rogers
Vice President
Stacy and Witbeck Inc.
Alameda, CA

Michael I. Schneider
Senior Vice President
Los Angeles, CA

David M. Stackrow
Capital District Transportation Authority
Albany, NY

William T. Thomsen
Senior vice president/general manager
Urban Engineers Inc.
Philadelphia, PA

Jarod V. Varner
Executive Director
Central Arkansas Transit Authority
North Little Rock, AR